Executive 2018-2022


Michael Pearson (Australia) Founding member

PhD in Prehistoric and Historical Archaeology. Director of Heritage Management Consultants Pty Ltd. Previously Deputy Executive Director of the Australian Heritage Commission. Heritage consultant since 1993 with work including the investigation and site assessment of a number of Antarctic historic places including Mawson’s Huts, Wilkes Station, Macquarie Island, and the Scott and Shackleton huts in the Ross Sea Dependency (1986-7, 1990-1, 1992)-for Australian Antarctic Division, AHC, and the New Zealand Antarctic Program. Other work includes early mining, whaling and sealing sites in Australia. Member of Australian ICOMOS since 1978 and chairman 1984-1986. mike.p@ozemail.com.au

Vice President

Maria Ximena Senatore (Argentina) November 2009

PhD in History (Universidad de Valladolid, Spain 2003). Specialist on Auxiliary Sciences for Restoration of Historical Heritage: Archaeology and Museology (Universidad de Vallodolid, Spain, 1997). Archaeologist (Universidad de Buenos Aires, Argentina 1995). Senior Researcher at CONICET (National Council of Research Argentina) at the INAPL Instituto Nacional de Antropología y Pensamiento Latinomericano and Associate Professor (Cultural Heritage) Universidad Nacional de la Patagonia Austral. Project leadership in research projects on archaeology, history, heritage and tourism in Patagonia and Antarctica since 1996. Leader of field research in historical archaeology  on the South Shetland Islands, Antarctica (1995 to 2000) and in South Patagonia (1998 to 2017).  She lectured on the History of Antarctica on tourist cruises to Antarctica from 2004 to 2007.  mxsenatore@gmail.com

Secretary General

Bryan Lintott (New Zealand/United Kingdom) October 2009

PhD in Antarctic Studies, ‘Scott’s and Shackleton’s Huts: Antarctic Heritage and International Relations’ (Gateway Antarctica, University of Canterbury, 2017). Institute Associate, Scott Polar Research Institute, the University of Cambridge. Previous posts: Director, Ferrymead Heritage Park; Heritage Curator, Christchurch Arts Centre, NZ. Former Chairperson of ICOMOS New Zealand. Winston Churchill Fellow, 2001. BA in Art History, Certificate in Antarctic Studies (Dist.). bryan@bjlintott.com

Arctic advisor

Susan Barr (Norway) Founding President 2001-2010

British, living permanently in Norway since 1973. PhD in Ethnology. Polar historian and cultural heritage advisor. Cultural heritage officer for Svalbard and Jan Mayen (Norwegian Arctic) 1979-1982, historian at the Norwegian Polar Institute 1982-1998, special advisor on polar matters at the Directorate for Cultural Heritage 1998. Field work in large areas of the Arctic almost annually since 1979 and two field seasons in the Antarctic. Member of the Norwegian National Committee of ICOMOS since 1989. In April 2019 Susan was made an Honorary (Life) Member of ICOMOS Norway in recognition of her work for polar cultural heritage. snbarr@gmail.com

The President, Vice President and Secretary General act as the Executive of the IPHC in order to advance and implement the policies and decisions of the committee.